the stuff of dreams

Almost a week has passed since I last blogged and it has been another really busy week. Lambing is now properly underway, and we have had another calf born safely. We’ve had three calves so far this spring and it is lovely to see them skipping in the sunshine.

Unusually, I have driven almost 1000 miles this week either viewing and riding horses to replace the previous horse who didn’t settle, or undertaking farm business. I am quite glad to be at home today for once even though I have been working flat out since 6am..

I think I have found a suitable horse for riding around the farm and hope to return on Monday for one more ride on him before agreeing to one month’s trial. It has been very hard to choose between two particular horses [ and of course they were 200 miles apart] after looking at and riding many equines over the last few weeks.

Only two were not as described in their particulars, or by their owner [with one, I should have remembered to ask about feet before doing a 250 mile round trip], and we have seen a huge variety of types and breeds, but it has finally come down to a choice of two and after next week I hope to be able to write more about the experience. 

I have however met some lovely people along the way. The trust that has been shown to us, to take horses out unaccompanied and alone by someone that they don’t really know [or have any idea if we can ride] has been amazing and a very important part of the process. One little horse was almost discounted as when rode her for the first time, in the company of other horses, she almost went to sleep. Taking her out on her own, a month later, was much better, however I think she will probably be the last losser… but I am trying to be very objective about the whole process and have also taken advice. If the two finalists could have merged together I believe we’d truly have the perfect steed, but I guess that only happens in dreams.

We have also had a farm walk this week with fifty visitors of all ages. These educational visits are brilliant for making us have a major tidy up around all the buildings. Perhaps it is time for visitors in the farmhouse too… but since the Dining room is already overflowing with educational material for OPEN FARM SUNDAY, perhaps it will have to wait. It is always very interesting to us to hear new questions from the public about what we do, and to see how they act when visiting a farm. There are always a few people who think they can go anywhere they like on the premises and others who make the day for us by being so polite, patient and so very interesting.

All the plants that were potted on last weekend have grown on well, and I still hope to plant the onion setts very soon but must be careful not to over do the bending.. all our backs are creaking right now and we are all queuing up for the chiropractor. The cauliflower seeds have come up in record time but I am slightly confused by the instructions in the  gardening book and no longer sure if we are growing late summer ones or early winter ones.. so long as we can eat them in due course that is all that matters.

PS: Poor Ruby has mastitis again, and is back on the intramammary tubes. We had to rush out and buy milk for the house, and hope she will be better soon. She has been turned out with the bull by day and is back in her byre at night. We hope to be back on her milk by Wednesday as we always go over the reccommended withdrawal period for all medicines.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “the stuff of dreams

  1. Good luck with choice of horse. When I chose my last horse I had to ride him through Hereford town to a common on my own. I eventually found the common and set into a canter. All was going well until the horse crossed his legs and both of us fell in a heap. Up we got, both of us covered in mud and grass. The horse stood still for me to climb aboard. I ended up buying him (he was nice and quiet) and we had a lovely 15 years together! I never fell of again! His name was Simon and I loved him to bits!

  2. You sound incredibly busy on the farm but it must be very rewarding. I can’t believe you have had to travel so far to find the right horse. Best wishes.

  3. It’s so lovely to read your updates, living on my own farm, breathing and sleeping to the sound of sheep can get quite monotonous sometimes so it’s like a breath of fresh air to hear about someone else’s life on a farm, which sounds a lot more lively than mine!

    I used to ride horses when I was younger but about 5 years ago I got thrown off a monster, perhaps not big to you but at 17hh he was far too big for me! I got back on and took him for an hour hack with a couple of friends but all the way round my backside was throbbing from the fall, my hip was aching and I was nervous as hell. The horse was most probably laughing his head off. I have never felt relief like it when my feet once more touched the ground! And I’ve never ridden since. I’m afraid I never will again but I do love horses still, just to look at and stroke though!

    CJ xx

Leave a Reply

